ZhanZuoXingWo 站坐行臥

Four seasons, four postures

The fundamental principle of traditional Qigong is to follow the way of nature. Accordingly, we emphasize four postures, ZhanZuoXingWo 站坐行臥, which are also known as SiWeiYi 四威儀 (Four Sacred Rituals), to model the four seasons in our daily practice.  

The rhythms of the four seasons are found in time (in hourly, daily, monthly and yearly cycles) and in space (specifically throughout the organ systems and meridians of your body). 

Zhan  is the standing posture, representing spring 

Zuo  is the sitting posture, symbolizing autumn 

Xing  is the walking posture, embodying summer 

Wo  is the lying posture, standing for winter 

Qigong is not an exercise, it is a way of life

Qigong is a way of life.  Once you mastered the spirit of SiWeiYi, you can practice Qigong anywhere and at anytime.